DIY: MBDTF Halloween Costume

For Halloween my freshman year, I was a cheerleader. I rented my costume for $20 at a vintage store in downtown Columbia.

My sophomore year, I rented a firefighter woman’s costume, which was one of my favorites might I add.

My junior year I went as nothing, because I did not participate in any Halloween festivities.

This year for Halloween, I decided to get creative with a “Do it yourself” or “DIY” costume.

I knew whatever I decided to make, I gave myself a $20 limit.

I looked around on Pinterest, and through old photos in my phone for costume ideas.

Luckily, I am a photo hoarder because I found an old screenshot of a random person’s Halloween costume from last year that I found pretty neat.

The screen shot was of a woman who was 1/5 album covers that artist George Condo collaborated with Kanye West on for the “My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy” album.

The album cover that this woman did was a remake of was the ballerina painting.

The ballerina in the photo was wearing what appeared to be her hair in a high bun, a black body suit, and a black ballerina tutu while she held a wine glass. As I stared at the picture, I noticed that I pre-owned more pieces that this costume required, which was a plus for me and my $20 budget.

Then, I decided to Youtube search the costume only to find a tutorial video that answered every possible question that I could think of.

After I found all of the resources that I needed, I decided that this costume was the one.

Items you will need:

HAIR

I put my hair in a messy high bun and to switch it up, I had bangs.

THE FIT

I already pre-owned a black body suit, a wine glass, tights, and shoes. I was only missing a tutu, and actual items to make the album cover.

Mind you, I tend to be a last minute gal, so I used my sister’s Amazon prime delivery to order the tutu, and took advantage of the free two-day shipping.

I found gold, cloud-print, and red posters at the local Michael’s store that I used to make a cut out similar to the MBDTF album.

I printed out a parental advisory logo to be placed in the corner of my album sign that I made to be used for pictures.

THE ALBUM COVER

First, I cut out one side of the card board to use the square shape so that the album can appear thick and sturdy.

Next, I used gorilla glue to attach the red posters to each side of the card board.

Then, I cut the gold poster in a smaller square and the cloud-printed poster in an even smaller square very similar to the actual MBDTF album cover.

I went ahead and glued that down.

In between allowing all of it to dry, I used my blowdryer to flatten out any air bubble that formed over time.

Lastly, I noticed that my Parental Advisory Explicit Content printed out logo was too big.

I reprinted out a smaller one, and glued that down the same exact way.

This is my finished, simple, DIY project!

Fun fact: I was originally going to do the exact same DIY as shown in the video, but I remembered that I was going to a costume party and wearing the album cover of my back may not be the best idea for a close-knit environment.

Instead, I just took these fun pictures below, that I hope you enjoy!

Leave a comment